Follow Me

Sunday, October 14, 2012

Review: Seed by Ania Ahlborn

Title: Seed
Author: Ania Ahlborn
Published Date: July 17, 2012
Publisher: 47North
Format: Kindle
Pages: 246
ISBN: 1612183662
Copy provided by: Personal Purchase
Genre:  Horror
Author Website:
Add to: Goodreads
Purchase: Amazon ; Kindle


Fans of Stephen King, Jack Kilborn, and Blake Crouch… prepare to meet the Devil.

In the vine-twisted swamps of Louisiana, the shadows have teeth.

Jack Winter has spent his entire life running from something no one else can see. His childhood is his darkest secret, but after a near fatal accident along a deserted road, the darkness he was sure he’d escaped rears its ugly head… and smiles.

But this time, he isn’t the only one who sees the soulless eyes of his past. This time, his six-year-old daughter Charlie leans into his ear and whispers: Daddy, I saw it too.

And then she begins to change.

Faced with reliving the nightmares of his childhood, Jack watches his daughter spiral into the shadows that had nearly consumed him twenty years before.

But Charlie isn’t the only one who’s changing.

Jack never outran the darkness.  It’s been with him all along.

And it’s hungrier than ever.

A new breed of dark fiction: the subtlety of Seed will haunt you, and the end will wickedly satisfy.

My Rating: 3.5 out of 5 Stars


For most fans of horror, it is easy to compare new stories with others that have been read.  Seed is not an exception.  Some of the situations and elements in the story resemble other well known stories and there is a reason for that.  The idea of the devil, a demon or shadow lurking in the corner never seems to get old.  It is just a matter of how the story is presented and what emotional effect it has on the audience.  This is the highest strength of this novel.

Ania Ahlborn did an exceptional job of creating the right creepy vibe for this novel.  I have read some horror novels that have what could be a really scary situation but it is ruined by the lack of creating the necessary feel for the audience to be affected.  Seed has this feel and I am impressed because, unless I am mistaken, this is the author’s first written work.

The story was very well written but I still had a few problems with it.  As I said, the story had the creepy hair standing up on the back of your neck feel but the feeling ended for me about halfway through.  However, that may just be me.  I purposely look for books that will scary the pants off me but I have yet to find such a book.  Maybe I just do not scary easy.  However, the creepy scenes in this book were well worth it for me.  I have not read anything really creepy in a while so this book was a treat in that aspect.

Another problem I had was that there seemed to be some loose ends in the story.  Unless I was just wanting there to be more to the story which may have been the case.  I seem to want to know more about the darkness lurking in the stories than what they explain a lot of the time.  Also, I thought Jack’s character was going to have more going on in the ending that what happened.  Sorry I cannot say more without giving anything away.

Overall, a great first book by the author and good horror story to check out.  Although there were a few disappointments for me, I really enjoyed reading this story and I was glued to the story the whole time.  Seed moves at a quick pace and is easy to get lost in so you may want to make you sure you have plenty of free time before you start this book.

Recommend for Fans of Horror

For Readers that also love horror movies, if you liked Paranormal Activity or Insidious, this is a must read!


I would love to know your thoughts. Feel free to leave a comment. Thanks for reading my reviews and checking out my blog content!